Watching Babylon: The war in Iraq and global visual culture

Research output: Book/ReportBook

Abstract

Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media.

Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day.

In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.

Original languageEnglish (US)
PublisherTaylor and Francis
Number of pages207
ISBN (Electronic)9780203482827
DOIs
StatePublished - Jan 1 2012

Fingerprint

Iraq
print media
suburb
cinema
weapon
everyday life
modernity
television
experience
Internet
present
history

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Social Sciences(all)

Cite this

Watching Babylon : The war in Iraq and global visual culture. / Mirzoeff, Nicholas.

Taylor and Francis, 2012. 207 p.

Research output: Book/ReportBook

@book{36c2df3741f543d7a9358da7dd7bb5aa,
title = "Watching Babylon: The war in Iraq and global visual culture",
abstract = "Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media.Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day.In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.",
author = "Nicholas Mirzoeff",
year = "2012",
month = "1",
day = "1",
doi = "10.4324/9780203482827",
language = "English (US)",
publisher = "Taylor and Francis",

}

TY - BOOK

T1 - Watching Babylon

T2 - The war in Iraq and global visual culture

AU - Mirzoeff, Nicholas

PY - 2012/1/1

Y1 - 2012/1/1

N2 - Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media.Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day.In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.

AB - Groundbreaking and compelling, Watching Babylon examines the experience of watching the war against Iraq on television, on the internet, in the cinema and in print media.Mirzoeff shows how the endless stream of images flowing from the Gulf has necessitated a new form of visual thinking, one which recognises that the war has turned images themselves into weapons. Drawing connections between the history and legend of ancient Babylon, the metaphorical Babylon of Western modernity, and everyday life in the modern suburb of Babylon, New York, Mirzoeff explores ancient concerns which have found new resonance in the present day.In the tradition of Walter Benjamin, Watching Babylon illuminates the Western experience of the Iraqi war and makes us re-examine the very way we look at images of conflict.

UR - http://www.scopus.com/inward/record.url?scp=84916999544&partnerID=8YFLogxK

UR - http://www.scopus.com/inward/citedby.url?scp=84916999544&partnerID=8YFLogxK

U2 - 10.4324/9780203482827

DO - 10.4324/9780203482827

M3 - Book

AN - SCOPUS:84916999544

BT - Watching Babylon

PB - Taylor and Francis

ER -