50 Years of ISME: Four honorary presidents - Some reflections on the past, present and future

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle


This article introduces and reflects on the biographies of ISME's four Honorary Presidents: Leo Kestenberg, Zoltán Kodály, Dimitri Kabalevsky and Frank Callaway. The lenses of modernity and postmodernity are applied in an examination of the relationships among the topics of individuality, community and 'representation' in relation to: (a) the four men discussed in this issue; and (b) key issues in music education including the nature of music education 'foundations', curriculum development and feminism(s).

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)93-101
Number of pages9
JournalInternational Journal of Music Education
Issue number2
StatePublished - Dec 1 2004



  • Consciousness
  • Education
  • Feminisms
  • Music
  • Objectives

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Education
  • Music

Cite this